Burrito Bake

Hello! I am so excited to be posting my first recipe up here! I was unsure of a name for the blog to begin with, but thanks to Facebook friends and the final word from hubby I picked Meals with Merritt. With it just being me and the hubs I only use half of a lot of things and put the rest up for a later use. Last night was one of those nights where I has some lonely things in my fridge/freezer that needed to be used. I mean they were practically yelling “Use me already! You’ve pushed me aside long enough!” So that’s just what I did.

I got the idea from this recipe at http://www.thecountrycook.net/2012/05/taco-bake.html. She called it Taco Bake but hubs and I both agreed it tasted more like a burrito, so that’s what I’m calling it.

Ok, here goes! Hope you enjoy.

Here we have the cast of characters:

1/2lb ground beef (it was already cooking when I took the picture)

1/2pkg taco seasoning, plus water called for on package

1 can cheddar cheese soup

1/2 can rotel

1/2 cup refried beans

4 tortillas (I only had small ones but I recommend using the bigger ones.)

Shredded cheddar, about a cup. I used my own cheesy judgement. 😉

Cilantro, optional

First cook and drain your ground beef, I actually used ground chuck but whatever you have is fine. I seasoned it with a little salt, pepper, and some onion I put in my mini chopper til it was real small. My Crazy Man doesn’t like onions so I have to hide them. Oh…my husband isn’t really crazy, I just call him that from time to time. He knows it, so it’s ok.

Then after you’ve cooked and drained your meat add the taco seasoning and water. Then give it a stir.

Then add the soup, and give it a stir.

Then add the rotel, and yep give it another stir. You could just add everything at once and stir really well I suppose. I just had a small pan and found it easier to stir as I went along.

Then add the beans and stir again. This looks a bit gross I know. It does taste good though.

This part is optional. I had some cilantro begging to be used so I thought why not, and threw it in too.

See how tiny? Now you see why I recommend the bigger tortillas? I had four lonely little ones in my fridge screaming “Oh pick me, pick me!”  Anyway…preheat your oven to 350 and spray a pan. I used my pie plate, you use whatever suits your fancy. And then begin the layers, start with a tortilla.

Then add some of the meat mixture.

Then some cheddar cheese, till you think it’s cheesy enough. Then repeat the layers, tortilla, meat mixture, cheese, you get the idea, right?

This is what mine looked like when I finished the layers. If you use bigger tortillas it’ll look a bit different. Now, stick that layery gooey, cheesy, beany (is beany a word? ah I’m using it anyway), goodness in the oven for about 20 minutes. Till its melty and a little brown.

After you take it out of the oven sprinkle it with cilantro, if you’ve got it, to make it pretty. Or umm as pretty as it can get. 🙂

Let it cool just a bit and then cut it. This is what mine looked like when I cut it.

I served it with a salad. If I had some sour cream I probably would have put some on top. So I’m sure if you like other toppings you could add them. Hubs really liked this. It’s always a good sign when he takes a break in between chews to say “Mmmm this is really good.”

This made enough for two people with two pretty good size helpings so if you need to make it for more you may want to double the recipe.

I hope you enjoy! Look for more recipes soon! I usually make something new at least 4 times a week. And if I make something old that I don’t already have up here I’ll post it as I go along too. I’m not cooking tonight though, it’s our anniversary! We are going out, haven’t decided between Olive Garden or Outback yet though. Well, enough of me rambling.

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

One thought on “Burrito Bake

Leave a Reply

