Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

Hi ya! Hope everyone has had a wonderful weekend! We sure did! Yesterday we went to the Fredericksburg, TX Food and Wine Fest. We had so much fun. We tasted a few wines and took a bottle that tastes like chocolate covered cherries home! I bought a few seasonings and things also. Today has been pretty relaxed here at the house of Merritt. šŸ˜‰

Sunday night is usually pasta night for us. Hubs usually has to run on Mondays, so he needs the carb intake. He’s in the Army by the way. So, tonight we had Campbell’s Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo, Crazy Man saw it on a commercial on tv and said “Think you could make that one night?” So of course, I said yes.Ā Just like this morning when he woke up, rolled over and said “PaAaAancakes!” (Make your voice go up and down with the a’s.) We had pancakes this morning, his favorite, or one of many. šŸ™‚ Ok now on to the alfredo!

Here’s the ingredient list from Campbell’s. I’ll add my changes in parenthesis.

1/2Ā  of a 1-pound package linguine (I think I used a little under 1/2 pkg.)
1 cup fresh or frozen broccoli florets (I used more than a cup, I had a small bag of the kind you steam in the microwave.)
2 tablespoonsĀ  butter ( I didn’t use this at all)
1 1/4 poundsĀ  skinless, boneless chicken breast halves, cut into 1 1/2-inch pieces ( I used two thinly cut chicken breasts.)
1 can Campbell’sĀ® Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup
1/2 cupĀ  milk (I used heavy cream, it was probably a little over 1/2C it was what I had left in the carton.)
1/2 cupĀ  grated Parmesan cheese (I didn’t measure but I think I had a little less than 1/2C)
1/4 teaspoonĀ  ground black pepper (I added this to taste.)

I put on a big pot of water to start boiling, I stuck a lid on it to get it going faster and then after it came to a boil I added some olive oil, so theĀ pasta didn’t stick togetherĀ and salt, to season the pasta.

After the water was boiling and I added the salt and oil I added my pasta. I cooked it about 15 to 20 minutes, till it was al dente. You want it to have a little bite left cause you’ll add it to the sauce and it’ll cook a bit more there.

While the pasta is cooking I sprayed a large skillet with Pam and added my cut up chicken. I seasoned it with some salt, pepper, and some Ana’s Herbs I got from the food and wine fest. It’s just some oregano, garlic, basil, rosemary, parsley, and red and black pepper. I cooked till my chicken was no longer pink.

I then added the soup, heavy cream (or milk if you are using milk instead), and the parmesan cheese. I stirred to combine all three with the chicken.

I then added the cooked pasta and the broccoli. I put the broccoli in the microwave for the time stated on the package before adding it. You could also add it to the pasta the last five minutes of cooking time if you prefer. You could use fresh broccoli instead of the frozen as well.

I then tossed everything together and gave it a taste. I thought it could use a little garlic powder and just a bit of salt. So I added those made sure it was combined, let it heat and bubble just a little,Ā and then served it.

I served it with garlic bread.

This was fairly quick to make and it tasted good also. I hope you all enjoy!

I made chicken alfredo using Progresso Recipe Starters a few weeks ago and it was good as well!

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

Leave a Reply

