Salmon with Cheesy Rice and Asparagus

Hello, hello! Tonight was an easy night, only took about 25 minutes to cook everything. 🙂 Those meals I like, the ones I like even more are the one pot wonders. I mean does any one really like to do dishes? I know I sure don’t.

Here’s what you’ll need, for two people anyway:

2 Salmon filets

1/2 cup of rice, I used zatarans extra long grain, you can use whatever rice you prefer.

asparagus with garlic, I had some prepackaged that I got from the grocery store. You can just buy a bunch from the produce section and add garlic when you cook. Just make sure to cut the woody end off. *Hint, take one spear and start to bend, it will naturally break where the woody end starts, then line it up with the rest of the bunch and cut.

1/2 cup or a little less of cheese, I had some Monterey jack and a little bit of shaved parmesan left so I used that.

Chicken bouillon cube, I have the powder form

1/2 tsp of minced garlic

olive oil

salt, pepper, and old bay seasoning

1 cup water to cook rice. (two parts water per 1 part rice)

First, put your salmon down skin side down on a foil lined baking sheet. I used Reynolds nonstick foil. I love that stuff! Then, drizzle olive oil on your salmon and rub it around to make to make sure it’s all covered. Use clean fingers of course, you could use a brush if you have one, I don’t. While I started prepping my salmon I put the one cup water on to boil with the chicken bouillon and 1/2 tsp of minced garlic. I didn’t get a picture, oops.

After you made sure the top of your salmon has olive oil on it season it with salt, pepper, and old bay. You can leave the old bay off if you want to. Then after its seasoned put it in a COLD oven and turn it to 400 degrees and cook for 25 minutes. It should be flaky when it’s done. 🙂

Put a little olive oil in a pan and add your asparagus with garlic to it and toss to make sure they get the oil on them. Sprinkle them with salt and pepper. Cook them for about 5 to 7 minutes, you want them tender but still be crisp. You don’t want ’em mushy.

After the water with the chicken bouillon cube and garlic come to a boil, add the 1/2 cup of rice reduce your heat to low and cover. Cook about 20 minutes, till your rice is tender. I forgot to take a picture of that step, sorry. When the rice is done, fluff it with a fork and add your cheese. Stir to combine.

At this point your salmon should be done. You’ll know it’s done when it’s flaky, see how it’s flaky when I poked it with a fork?

After everything is finished serve it on a plate. Prep took maybe five minutes and cooking time was about 25. Everything was done at the same time. I’m glad I already had this down to cook and that it came together quickly cause hubs got home about 30 minutes early today! I usually try to have dinner ready when he gets home, I know he’s usually hungry. 🙂

Oh, after I plated everything I put some raspberry peach chipolte glaze on my salmon. I got it from the food and wine fest we went to Saturday. I know you can get something similar to it from Pampered Chef . You could probably get it at a specialty food store also. I love it! It’s good on pork too. Crazy Man doesn’t really like any thing that resembles a jelly or sweet sauces so I didn’t put any on his.

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

Leave a Reply

