Hashbrown Casserole

Tonight I made hashbrown casserole. I saw a couple different recipes online and I combined two of them. It was good but didn’t turn out quite like I expected. We both ate two big helpings of it though, so we must have liked it pretty well. 🙂

Alright what you’ll need is a package of hashbrowns. I used the shredded kind, you could use the chunky kind too. Make sure they are thawed. I got these close to the milk in the grocery store, they were just refrigerated, not frozen.

8oz sour cream, I had some sour cream that I added some ranch dip mix to so I just used that. I don’t think it hurt anything by using it.

1 can of cream of chicken

1/2 cup of chopped onion. I used probably a 1/4 cup of onion I ran through my chopper. Crazy Man isn’t fond of onion so I have to hide it.

1 stick of butter, I was completely out of stick butter. Rare occasion for me. So I made do with some country crock from the tub.

2 cups of cheddar cheese. You can see from the picture that’s colby jack, not cheddar. I sent my crazy man to the store to get cheddar on Sunday and he brought back colby jack. I didn’t tell him he got the wrong one, I just went a head and figured it would be alright. 🙂

I served this with some chicken I baked in a chipotle pepper marinade. If you wanna serve it with something else then you can leave the chicken out.

Sorry this is so bright. My camera had a mind of its own tonight. First melt your butter. I really recommend using stick butter, not the kind from the tub like I did. The kind in the tub has more water in it than stick butter, or so I’m told.

This one’s a little dark, like I said camera had a mind of its own. To your melted butter add your onions, sour cream, cream of chicken, and a little salt and pepper.

 Then pur your hashbrowns in a greased pan. I used a round glass one.

Then add your soup mixture to the potatoes and stir to make sure it’s all combined. Oh and I forgot to take a picture but after that cover the top with cheese and cover it with foil and put it in the oven at 350 for an hour.

If you wanna serve this with chicken like I did first you’ll wanna let the chicken marinate in the chipotle pepper marinade for at least 15 minutes. You just add 1/4 cup water, 1/4 cup olive oil, and the seasoning to a bag or bowl  stir to combine then add your chicken and refrigerate. I let mine marinate about an hour. Then I took it out and put it in a pan and covered with foil and put it in the oven with the casserole.

I baked both the chicken and the hasbrown casserole for about 50 minutes then took the foil off both and put them back in the oven for the remaining 10 minutes so the cheese could brown just a little. I was afraid the cheese would get too brown if I left the foil off the whole time.

 This is the top of the casserole after it came out of the oven. Again, sorry for it being so bright. My camera didn’t want to cooperate.

I plated the chicken and the casserole with some green beans.

The hashbrown casserole you could put corn flakes on top for some crunch, just melt some butter and toss the corn flakes in it and evenly spread across the top. I didn’t have any so I didn’t do that. You could probably use bread crumbs, crunched up crackers, or croutons also. You could add bacon or ham to it as well. I actually thought of adding bacon…but I was out. Sounds like I need to make a trip to the grocery store huh? You could even do a breakfast for supper with this too. Just cook some bacon or sausage, maybe eggs and biscuits too? Speaking of breakfast, there’s some of the hashbrown casserole left. Looks like I know what I’m having for breakfast in the morning. 😉

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

Leave a Reply

