Beef with Broccoli

First you’re gonna want to marinate the meat:

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp sugar (that’s sugar in my little chef canister)

1 tbsp cornstarch

1 tbsp low-sodium soy sauce

1 tbsp water

2 tbsp vegetable oil

1 1/2 lbs flank steak, sliced into thin strips (I used top round sirloin cut at an angle.)

 Whisk together the baking soda, sugar, cornstarch, soy sauce, water, and vegetable oil in a large bowl.

Toss the steak with the marinade to coat. Cover and refrigerate at least 1 hour.

Now for the sauce:

1/2 c low-sodium soy sauce (I used a little over 1/4 c. hubs isn’t fond of soy sauce so I try to not use a bunch)

2 tbsp brown sugar (I used this plus a little more to try to hide the soy sauce)

4 cloves garlic, minced (I did 2 1/2 heaping tsps of minced garlic)

2 tbsp flour

1 tbsp sherry (I left this out.)

3 tbsp vegetable oil (This is to cook the meat and broccoli. I didn’t see the point in adding more oil to cook the meat since it was marinated with oil and I cheated and used one of the steam bags of frozen broccoli. So I didn’t use this oil)

2 heads broccoli, crowns only (I used a bag of frozen broccoli)

In a small bowl, stir together the soy sauce, brown sugar, garlic, and flour until smooth. Then set it aside.

Add the marinated meat and half of the sauce mixture and saute for 3-4 minutes, stirring often.

Make sure it’s cooked through and no longer pink.

After the meat is cooked add your cooked broccoli. If you are using fresh broccoli, saute’ it in 2tbs of oil before you cook your meat and set it aside.

Now add the remaining half of your sauce to the beef and broccoli.

Give it a good toss and let is simmer for another minute.

Serve it over some cooked rice. I started cooking the rice before I started mixing up the sauce and cooking everything, since it takes longer to cook than everything else.

This was a hit. I was a little worried at first since my crazy man doesn’t really care for soy sauce. But he liked it! It was quick and easy too so that’s another plus!

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

Leave a Reply

