Chicken Fried Steak with Mashed Potatoes and Gravy.

Howdy! I don’t usually go around saying howdy, just seemed right with this post being about chicken fried steak. This is one of those “man pleasing” meals. It’s not healthy by any means lol. But my crazy man likes it and I love him so I make it. 🙂

Ok, before I start telling you the things you need to make this and how to make it there’s one very important thing you need. A cast iron skillet. A big one. I suppose you could use a nonstick skillet. No really, use the cast iron skillet if you’ve got one. And if you’ve never used one and get one do not put it in the dishwasher. I was lucky and inherited mine from my grandma.

See, this is my big one.

I also have a baby one and a medium-sized one. 🙂 These are essential for making corn bread too.

Alright here’s what you need:

Cube steak. I used two, if you’re feeding more people use more.

Flour, I think I used probably a little over a cup, plus more for gravy

Milk, about a cup, plus a couple more cups for gravy

Egg, I only used one cause I only had two pcs of meat. Use two eggs if you’re using more meat.

Potatoes, I used two big ones and it made it enough for about 3 people.

Oil, I didn’t measure, I just poured.

Salt, pepper(you’ll need plenty of it), and cayenne pepper (If you want it)

You’ll wanna peel, wash, cut up, and get your potatoes going first. The meat doesn’t take long to cook. I stick a lid on them till they start to boil. Take the lid off once they start boiling, otherwise you’ll have a boiled over mess.

Ok now for the set up for the steak. You’ll need a bowl for your egg/milk mixture, one for your seasoned flour, and then a plate to set the steak on after you’ve gotten it ready.That’s the only thing about this meal, you mess up a lot of dishes. Both sides of my sink are full right now. Bah hum bug. I don’t like dishes at all. But the food was worth it.You’ll wanna add some salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper to your flour and mix it in.

Add your egg and milk to a bowl and wisk together. If your pieces of cube steak are bigger, you may want to use a bigger bowl. Mine were small so I was safe with this one.

Salt and pepper both sides of your cube steak.

Ok, now the fun part. First dip your seasoned meat in the milk/egg mixture. Make sure it gets completely covered. *Tip have one hand be your wet hand and one be your dry hand. Especially if you are trying to take step by step pictures. It’s helpful if you aren’t taking pictures also. Oh you may want to wear and apron too. 😉

Then dip in your seasoned flour and flip it over, make sure both sides are covered.

Now back to the wet mixture. Make sure it’s fully covered.

And back to the flour mixture.

So that’s wet, dry, wet, dry. Got it? Hope so, now keep going till you’ve got all your cube steak battered.

As you get done with a piece set it on a clean plate. So that way you can cook about three pieces at time and the others can be waiting on ya. And you don’t have to worry about having a floury hand and trying to flip the steak or anything.

Heat some oil in your cast iron skillet (or heavy pan whichever you call it) over medium heat. Test it with some flour to make sure its hot before you put your meat in. It should sizzle a little, see in the picture?  If it’s not hot enough your batter won’t stay on your cube steak very well. At least that’s my past experience.

Once your oil is hot enough put your cube steak in there. Don’t over crowd your pan though. Only about three pieces at a time. I only made two.

Cook about 5 minutes on each side. Don’t go flipping it too much, all your breading will come off. You don’t want that do ya? If a little comes off it’ll be alright, you’re gonna make gravy in that skillet later. It’ll just make it better. 😉

After it’s done take it out and set it on a plate with paper towels. Then my dears it’s time to make some gravy.

Turn your heat down a little on that skillet that you cooked the steak in. I would take out some of the oil, I of course for got to do that till I was already adding flour to it. I always make way too much gravy. Anyway, to your oil add some flour. I don’t measure this part. Just add it and keep stirring till it’s kinda pasty looking.

It should look a little like this. With your flour and oil. You need to brown it a little so it doesn’t taste like raw flour, yuck.

Add your milk and stir away. It’ll get thicker. If it starts to get too thick add your milk and turn down the heat. Add some salt and pepper, make sure you taste it. You don’t want bland gravy, that’s just wrong.

Should look a little something like this when it’s finished. Like I said I always make way too much. Crazy Man only likes it on his potatoes and nuthin else. I like gravy, on well, pretty much anything you can eat gravy on.

Remember those potatoes we put on to boil? Yeah those. They should be done by now. Drain them, then put ’em in your mixer bowl and add some butter, milk, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Put on the wisk attachment and cream your potatoes. I have a potato masher, like a handheld one but it’s plastic and well, kinda stinks. So I don’t use it. I just throw my potatoes in my mixer. I love my KitchenAid Mixer. My momma got it for me for my first married Christmas. 🙂

Alrighty, now that everything is done put it on a plate. I also cooked some green beans and biscuits to go with it. Now, go wake up your napping hubby and tell him it’s time to eat! That’s what I did after I cooked anyway. He inhaled his food, that aways make me happy. 🙂 But then again, it was chicken fried steak, mashed potatoes, and biscuits. He loves all those things. That’s why I make it.

Hope you enjoy!

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

Leave a Reply

