Salmon with Spinach, Mushrooms, and Tomatoes

Hello! This recipe is pretty easy to make. Takes a bit more time but it’s easy. From my last post you know I’m preparing to move so I’ve been using what I have on hand. I did go buy some spinach and a couple of tomatoes but other than that I had everything.

Here’s what you’re gonna need:

2 salmon filets (if you’re cooking for more than two use more.)

Small red potatoes, I used 8

1 bag of baby spinach.

2 Roma tomatoes, if you  have one good-sized tomato by all means use that

Small can of mushrooms. Please, if you can, use fresh. My crazy man isn’t fond of mushrooms so I got the can, didn’t want the fresh to go to waste.

Salt, pepper, italian seasoning, garlic powder, and olive oil. (I didn’t measure any of these just a sprinkle or drizzle.)

First get your potatoes ready. Those will take the longest to cook. Wash them, cut off any bad spots, then cut them in half. If they are bigger cut them in fourths. Then drizzle some olive oil on them, toss to coat, then sprinkle with salt, pepper, and italian seasoning. Toss again to coat.

Then put them on a foil lined baking sheet. I use the Reynolds nonstick wrap. I love that stuff! Then put your potatoes in a preheated 400 degree oven. And let them roast about 15 minutes.Then after 15 minutes take the pan out of the oven and put your salmon on the pan and flip your potatoes. Drizzle some olive oil on the salmon, sprinkle with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Then put the pan back in the oven for about 20 more minutes. Until the potatoes are fork tender and the salmon is flaky.

The last 5 to 7 minutes of cooking time for your potatoes and salmon start your spinach mixture. I put the tomatoes in first. I honestly do not like tomatoes. They are pretty, I cook with them often, but raw yuck! Cooked alone, yuck again! I know, weird. Anyway, dice up your tomatoes, put in a pan with olive oil, sprinkle with salt, pepper, a little garlic powder, and I also sprinkled a little bit of sugar. Not a lot of sugar.

Then add the mushrooms. If you are using fresh mushrooms you may want to add those first. Let them saute a little bit to get soft. You don’t want ’em mushy though.

Now start adding your spinach. I know it seems like a lot but it’ll wilt down. I had to add a handful at a time.

After I had all the spinach in the pan I put a lid on it to help it wilt a little faster.

See, it wilts down a lot. I only used one bag here, if you’re cooking for more than two you should use a couple of bags.

After everything gets done plate it. I put the spinach mixture on top of the salmon. If you prefer, put it on the side. Hubs liked it. I put most of the mushrooms on my plate since he doesn’t really like them. Hope you enjoy!

Oh after we ate I got my grandma’s recipe box out. I started looking for a cookie recipe. While looking through it I found a recipe for baked apples I had written. Judging by my handwriting and the spelling errors I had to have been about 8 or 9 when I wrote it. It made me smile just seeing that she had kept it. It brought back memories of she and I together in the kitchen when I was a child. Just thought I’d share my happy moment with y’all. 🙂

My grandma’s recipe box.

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

Leave a Reply

