Zucchini-Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

I’M BACK!

Sorry for taking so long to get back into blogging. I really enjoy it! With moving, then the holidays, and hubs getting leave for Christmas it was a bit crazy there for a little while. I hope everyone had a good Thanksgiving, Christmas, and start to the New Year!

Okay, now, on to the muffins. 🙂

I started looking on pinterest and found a baked banana chocolate chip doughnut. That  lead me to look for a banana chocolate chip muffin. I then found this recipe. So I thought why not try it! I didn’t have one of those doughnut pan things so I didn’t want to make those. I may have to invest in one of those pans though. 🙂  Oh and I didn’t think to take step by step pictures. It’s pretty easy though. Okay, enough of me rambling…really on to the muffins now.

Here’s the original recipe, I’ll put my changes with a * before and after.

3 eggs
1/2 cup vegetable oil (you can use applesauce instead) *I used apple sauce, so that would make it a cup of apple sauce*
1/2 cup applesauce
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup white sugar *I only used 1/2 cup of sugar, it was .*sweet enough without the other 1/2 cup*
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 cup raw zucchini, shredded *1 large zucchini*
1 cup mashed ripe banana *1 1/2 medium bananas*
2 cups whole wheat flour *I used white flour*
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1 1/2 cups chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease muffin tins, I used pam spray.

Combine the eggs, sugars, oil(or apple sauce), vanilla, and applesauce. Add the banana and zucchini and mix well. Add the remaining dry ingredients (everything but the chocolate chips) and mix until combined. Then stir in the chocolate chips.

Portion into your muffin tins, I used an ice cream scoop. Bake at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes. I let the first round go for the full 25 and they got a bit dark. Not burnt just dark, the second batch I stopped at 22 minutes. Just keep an eye on them. I stuck a tooth pick in them when I took them out to make sure they were done. (If the tooth pick is clean, they are done.) The original recipe said it made 24 but I only got 21 out of it.

IMG_0328
My sister, grandpa, and I like the muffins. My mom, sadly, is allergic to bananas and couldn’t try them. I’ll have to make something special for her next time. 🙂

julia child cookbook

I had to show you what my husband got me for Christmas! (Please ignore the bow on my head) He got me the Julia Child cookbook set! 🙂 I’ve read some of the recipes in it but not all. I’m pretty excited about it.

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

One thought on “Zucchini-Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Pingback: Banana Blueberry Chocolate Chip Muffins | Meals with Merritt

Leave a Reply

