Cheesy Quinoa Cakes

Hello!

Remember when I said I’d be staying with my mom for a while? And that my sister is a vegetarian, so to be on the look out for vegetarian recipes? Well…here’s a vegetarian recipe! I was pretty excited to try this recipe. I had been wanting to try quinoa for while. So while browsing on pinterest last night I found this recipe and thought, why not give it a try? Oh by the way, did you know quinoa is pronounced KEEN-wah? Yeah, me either. I had to google it. And as I was starting to get things ready to cook, I had Food Network on and Paula Dean and one of her sons was cooking quinoa. So, it was meant for me to cook quinoa today. Okay, maybe just a coincidence. I probably watch Food Network a little too much. I think my husband thinks so too. He says I have an obsession with it and reality tv. But really, I don’t he’s just crazy. 😉 Oh you know what else was a first for me today? Roasting garlic! Yes, yes, I got that excited over roasted garlic. It’s so good and made the house smell amazing! Oh did you know that when you roast garlic it turns to a paste or feels kinda like a paste. I may never eat unroasted garlic again! It’s really good. Or maybe I just love garlic. Either way try it.

Like, now.

Okay, you don’t have to try it but, you really should…please?

Okay on to the quinoa cakes! I’m sure you’ve had enough of my rambling anyway.

IMG_0335

This is the box I got. Once I got it home I realized it was quinoa blend, so it has some rice in it. It worked though.

IMG_0336

This is the original recipe, I’ll put my changes in parenthesis.

Cheesy Quinoa Cakes with a Roasted Garlic and Lemon Aioli
Makes 10 to 12 (I got 8)

Ingredients:
2 cups cooked quinoa (I used a small box of it.)
2/3 cup grated fontina cheese (I used cheddar, I didn’t know what fontina was or where to find it.)
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 green onions, thinly sliced (Didn’t have any and forgot to use regular onions, oops.)
1 egg, lightly beaten
2 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper
2 ½ tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
salt to taste
aioli:
½ cup light mayonnaise
1 head of garlic, roasted
1 lemon, zested and juiced
¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper (Couldn’t find any so I used a few dashes of hot sauce.)
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
1. For the cakes: Place all ingredients, except for the oil, into a mixing bowl and stir together until well combined. Season with salt and allow the mixture to sit for 5 minutes.
2. Pour oil into a large sauté pan and place over medium heat.
3. Form ¼ cup patties with the quinoa mixture and place in the heated sauté pan. (this will have to be done in batches)
4. Cook quinoa cakes for about 5 minutes on each side. Repeat with the remaining patties until all of the cakes have been cooked. Set aside.
5. For the aioli: Place all ingredients into a food processor, season with salt and pepper and blend until smooth. Pour into a small bowl and serve alongside the warm quinoa cakes.

I’m sorry for not having any step by step pictures. I had my nephew with me earlier today, then my sister had a couple of friends stopped by, and the dogs needed out. Needless to say I was a bit distracted. But I did serve the quinoa cakes with broccoli and I tried mashed cauliflower but it didn’t go as I had hoped. It tasted ok but was a bit watery. The recipe I tried out said to not drain the cauliflower but that seemed like too much liquid to be left in so I drained a little over half the water. Next time I’ll drain them completely and go from there.

IMG_0338

I also baked some lemon chicken. I cut three large chicken breasts in half. They were really thick. I then drizzled them with olive oil, zest of one lemon, squeezed half the juice from the lemon on the chicken, seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and a little lemon pepper seasoning. It wasn’t too lemony. I made the chicken so the meat eaters could have something incase the quinoa didn’t go so well. Over all the whole meal turned out pretty well. Everyone liked the quinoa cakes!

This next picture doesn’t have to do with what I made tonight but it’s good also. 🙂

IMG_0339

This is the Pioneer Woman’s frozen fruit cups.

Ingredients

4 cups frozen peaches, thawed and chopped into large chunks (I used a bag and chopped them after they thawed.)

2 cans mandarin oranges, drained (I got the ones that were in light syrup.)

2 cans crushed pineapple, drained (I got the ones in 100% juice)

1 can fruit cocktail, drained (I wanted to add another can.)

6 medium firm bananas, chopped into chunks (I left these out, my mom is allergic to bananas.)

1 small can frozen pineapple-orange juice concentrate, thawed

1/3 cup lemon juice

Directions:

Combine the peaches, oranges, pineapple, fruit cocktail, bananas, juice concentrate and lemon juice in a bowl and mix until combined. Place in small disposable plastic cups and cover with plastic wrap or foil. Freeze until firm. Remove from the freezer 45 minutes to 1 hour before serving to thaw.

I babysit a friend’s niece on the weekends and she helped me make these. She loved them. As well as my 2-year-old nephew. So they are a hit with kids as well as adults. 🙂 I’m waiting on one to thaw a little so I can eat it as I type this. I hope you enjoy!

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

One thought on “Cheesy Quinoa Cakes

  1. Pingback: Cheesy Chicken Broccoli Quinoa Casserole | Meals with Merritt

Leave a Reply

