Banana Blueberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

I seem to be on a muffin kick lately. Remember those zucchini banana chocolate chip muffins I made about a week ago? Well, they were a big hit! I gave my nephew one for breakfast yesterday morning and he asked to take some home. So, of course I sent him home with a few. Then that afternoon my sister had some friends stop by and they ate the last three. My sister asked me last night if I could make some more, she likes them for breakfast. So my plan was to go to the store and get some more zucchini to make some more. It started sleeting and snowing here today, so I didn’t want to risk getting out in that mess more than I had to. So I used what I had on hand and made a few changes to the recipe. My Pawpaw, sister, and I really like them this time. My Pawpaw ate two in a row! The original recipe had white sugar and brown sugar but this time I left all the sugar out completely. I thought they would be sweet enough without the sugars. And of course I didn’t put the zucchini in this time either, I used blueberries.
IMG_0344

3 eggs
1 cup applesauce
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 cup blueberries
1 cup mashed ripe banana
2 cups flour
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1 cups chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease muffin tins.

Combine the eggs, vanilla, and applesauce. Add the banana and mix well. Add the remaining dry ingredients (everything but the chocolate chips and blueberries) and mix until combined. Then stir in the chocolate chips and blueberries.

Portion into your muffin tins. Bake at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes.

I got 16 muffins out of this. I used an ice cream scoop to portion out the muffins into the tin. These aren’t too sweet but they are sweet enough.

I made broccoli cheese soup tonight also but I cheated and used one of those bag mixes and just added broccoli and potatoes to it.

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

Leave a Reply

