Mushroom Onion Chicken

IMG_0348

Tonight’s dinner was pretty simple. Chicken with sautéed mushrooms and onions, macaroni and cheese, and broccoli. It didn’t take very long to make. I came up with the chicken on my own and the macaroni and cheese recipe is one I found for mac and cheese muffins here. I did change the recipe a bit, I just put my changes on here, not the original recipe. I don’t have step-by-step pictures again. My camera hasn’t been cooperating with me very much lately. It’s either too fuzzy, too bright, or too dark. Like the picture above is a bit fuzzy, I do apologize. I’m not sure what’s up with my camera lately…maybe operator error?

Anyway, on to the chicken and mac and cheese.

Chicken

2 chicken breasts cut into strips. I got 6 strips out of the two.

1/4 white onion, chopped

1 can of mushrooms, I was going to use fresh but the ones I had didn’t look very good.

salt

pepper

garlic powder

olive oil

Macaroni and cheese

2 cups uncooked elbow macaroni 

1 tablespoon butter

1 egg, beaten

1 cup milk 

1 1/2 cups shredded sharp Cheddar cheese

1 1/2 cups velveeta shreds  

1/2 cup seasoned dry bread crumbs 

2 teaspoons olive oil 

1/2 teaspoon salt

Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a casserole dish with nonstick cooking spray. In a small bowl, stir together the bread crumbs, olive oil and salt; set aside. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add the macaroni and cook for about 8 minutes, it should still be a little bit firm. Remove from the heat, drain and return to the pan; stir in the butter, salt and pepper to taste and egg until pasta is evenly coated.  Reserve 1/2 cup of sharp Cheddar cheese and stir the remaining Cheddar cheese, milk and velveeta cheese into the pasta. Spoon into the prepared casserole dish. Sprinkle the reserved cheese and the bread crumb mixture over the top.Bake for 30 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the topping is nicely browned.

 Meanwhile, cut the chicken into strips, season with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Put it in an oiled pan and cook until cooked through. Saute the mushrooms and onions until the onions are a little transparent and tender. Top the chicken with the mushrooms and onions, then sprinkle with cheddar cheese.

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

Leave a Reply

