Turkey Parmesan Meatballs

I was searching recipes on Pinterest today and found this one. Is anyone else addicted to Pinterest like me? See, I didn’t think I was the only one…am I? This recipe is a bit healthier than some I’ve posted. I’m determined to stay on track this year by losing weight and getting into shape, rather than being a shape. (Ya know…round, it’s a shape lol.) Anyway, I went to the store to get a couple of things I didn’t have that I needed to make this. I went to one store and couldn’t find ground chicken, so I got turkey instead. I also couldn’t find a zucchini or a lemon. Bags of lemons but no single lemons. Also they had cilantro where the parsley was supposed to be, so I assumed the parsley was where the cilantro would have been. But no, more cilantro. So I go to leave, get in my car pull out of the parking lot, and notice a sticky note on my window! So I have to stop and take it off, it was for a tax office place. Ugh, I was like go away. So anyway on to another store, where I found parsley and zucchini but forgot the lemon. It was ok though, turns out everything turned out just fine without the lemon. It’s been “one of those days” for me. Cooking helps though, makes me happy that even if it’s been an ehh day I can put ingredients together and actually make something.

Okay, enough of me rambling. On to the meatballs and the semi “homemade” sauce.

I started making the sauce first. It’s got lots of veggies in it. Here’s what you’ll need:

1 medium carrot, chopped

1 medium yellow squash, chopped

1 medium zucchini, chopped

1/2 green bell pepper, chopped

mushrooms, chopped (I had the pre sliced ones and I used about three handfuls or so.)

1/2 yellow onion, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, chopped

olive oil

one jar of pasta sauce (I used Prego tomato, garlic I think it was.)

IMG_0355

Chop up all your veggies pretty small. Put some olive oil in the pan and then your onion, season with salt and pepper. Saute’ it for a little bit then add your carrots, let those cook for a little bit before you add anything else so they can get a little tender. Then add the rest of your veggies.

IMG_0357

Let those cook for a little while and then add your sauce and let it simmer for about 15 to 20 minutes. You want the veggies to be tender but not mushy.

IMG_0361

This is the finished sauce.

Okay, now on to the meatballs.

1 pound ground turkey or chicken
1/2 cup breadcrumbs
2 tablespoons chopped onion
1 tablespoon chopped parsley
1/2 cup parmesan
salt to taste
pepper to taste
1 clove garlic, minced
1 teaspoon fennel seeds
1 egg, whisked
3 tablespoons olive oil
Pasta sauce
Mozzarella cheese
IMG_0358

In a large bowl, gently mix together first 11 ingredients.

IMG_0359

Roll into balls, I got about 20, and place them on a foil lined baking sheet. Then mix a spoon full of the sauce (try to just get the sauce and not the veggies) with the olive oil and brush the tops of your meat balls. Then put in a preheated 400 degree oven for 20 minutes. Then remove from oven and put cheese on top of each one. (No picture of this, I’m sorry.) This part is a bit difficult. I think it would be easier if you just sprinkled cheese on them after you plate it.

IMG_0364

I served with whole wheat penne and garlic knots. I know the garlic knots aren’t that great for you, but who can resist garlic bread?

I’m sorry if some of my pictures are blurry. My camera has a mind of its own half the time. Maybe an excuse to get a new one?

I also made cupcakes tonight. I’m not sure of the calorie count but I know it isn’t much. All you need are just two, yes two ingredients. Cake mix and a 20oz bottle of something diet. I’ve done it with yellow cake and diet sprite but tonight I used diet mountain dew and white cake. I’ve also heard chocolate cake and diet coke. I generally try to avoid diet drinks cause of the artificial sweetener. But, my sister needed a 2ltr bottle for a class so we are trying to use up the diet mountain dew.

To make the cupcakes you just dump the mix into a bowl, pour in the soda and whisk away. As soon as its all mixed pour into lined cupcake tins or into a cake pan. If you want you can top with cool whip for the “icing.” I’ve done that before, but not this time.

IMG_0365

Please ignore the fact it’s a little lopsided. I ran out of liners and resorted to foil. Hey, it worked! But these cupcakes don’t rise very much and they aren’t firm like most. They are a little umm…squishy…I guess. They aren’t gooey like an undercooked cupcake would be though.

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

Leave a Reply

