Cheesy Cauliflower Cakes

This recipe is both vegetarian friendly and carb friendly! Monday we went to the Whole Foods Store and bought this huge head of cauliflower. Tonight was the third night we used it, as well as cut some and packed in lunches. I should have taken a picture of the cauliflower, it was really huge. I love the Whole Foods Store. I started looking for cauliflower recipes on pinterest when I got the head of cauliflower. The first night we mashed it, and it was alright but I’ll have to do it a little different next time. The nest night we used it I roasted it, we all really liked it that way. Tonight I used this recipe and we liked it fairly well.

IMG_0369

This is the original recipe, I put my changes in parentheses.

1 head cauliflower
2 large eggs
1/2 c cheddar cheese, grated
1/2 c panko
1/2 t cayenne pepper, more of less to taste (I left this out completely)
salt
olive oil

Cut cauliflower into florets & cook in boiling water until tender about 10 minutes. Drain. Mash the cauliflower while still warm. Stir cheese, eggs, panko, cayenne & salt to taste.

Coat the bottom of a griddle or skillet with olive oil over medium-high heat. Form the cauliflower mixture into patties about 3 inches across. Cook until golden brown & set, about 3 minutes per side. Keep each batch warm in the oven while you cook the rest.

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

 

Leave a Reply

