Chicken Pot Pie and Pineapple Cake

IMG_0373

Tonight was pretty simple. I made chicken pot pie out of some left over baked chicken we had last night. This is a recipe my mom uses, I think a friend gave it to her. I add added a few things.

I’m currently sitting on the couch with my dog, who is being very clingy today. She’s making me type with one hand cause every time I move my hand she nudges it. Oh my Maggie Lou. It’s supposed to storm and I think she can sense it. Poor baby.

Here’s what you’ll need:

2 cups of cooked chicken, cut into bite size pieces

2 cans vegall, drained

2 cans cream of chicken or mushroom

1 cup of mushrooms, if you want them

Refrigerated pie crust

Saute’ your mushrooms first. Then, mix them with the two cans drained veggies, cooked chicken, cream of mushroom soup. Place bottom crust in your pie pan and poke a few holes in it. Put in a preheated 350 degree oven to brown a little, about 10 minutes. Then put your filling in and place top crust on a press to seal edges. Cut a hole to vent. Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes or until brown. Mine didn’t get as brown all over quite like I wanted but we were hungry.

If you want to make this vegetarian, just leave out the chicken and use cream of mushroom, not cream of chicken. I made a small one for my sister that didn’t have chicken. No picture of it, sorry. She started eating it before I could get a picture.

I also made a cake tonight. I was yet another pinterest recipe. Only two ingredients too!

IMG_0375

1 box of angel food cake mix and one 20oz can of crushed pineapple.

Just add the cake mix and pineapple to a bowl and stir. No need for a mixer, just a spoon. It gets frothy, so make sure you use a bowl that’s a bit bigger. Then poor it into a 13X9 baking pan. I sprayed it with Pam first. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

IMG_0376

I added some cool whip and cherry on top, just to make it pretty. 🙂

My sister didn’t like it, but she’s picky.

Hope you enjoy!

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

Leave a Reply

