Vegetarian Chili

IMG_0429

Today seemed like a good day for chili. I’ve never made vegetarian chili before, so I thought why not give it a try. It went over well, thankfully. I used this recipe but made a few changes.

I’m sorry for no step-by-step pictures lately. I’ve gotten behind on those lately. As well as my camera sometimes doesn’t want to cooperate. This recipe is fairly simple though.

Here’s what you are gonna need:

1 3/4 cups Vegetable Broth 
1 tablespoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme leaves, crushed
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
2 small zucchini, coarsely chopped (about 2 1/2 cups)
1 can (about 14.5 ounces) whole tomatoes, cut up (I used a can of tomatoes seasoned for chili)
2 medium carrots, chopped (about 2/3 cup)
1 can (about 15 ounces) black beans, rinsed and drained
1 can (about 15 ounces) chickpeas (garbanzo beans), rinsed and drained (I used white beans instead.)
6 cups hot cooked regular long-grain white rice, cooked without salt (I didn’t cook any rice)

I also added:

1 small onion, chopped  

½ large green bell pepper, chopped 

2clovesgarlic,chopped 

Olive oil to cook veggies 

2 table spoons ranch dressing powder

1/2 package chili seasoning, to me it didn’t taste chili-y enough without it 

1 can of corn, drained 

1 can organic mixed beans, I saw them in the pantry and decided to throw them in too

First chop up all your veggies. Then, add your oil to the bottom of your pot and add the onion, bell pepper, and garlic. Saute until the onion starts to become transparent. Then stir in everything but the cans of beans. Bring to a boil, then cover and reduce heat to low. Let it simmer about 20 minutes, or until all the vegetables are tender. Then add the drained, rinsed beans and corn, heat through. Then serve. The Campbells recipe says to serve over rice, we just put some fritos and cheese on ours.

IMG_0430

I’ll post what we had for desert in my next blog post. Hope you enjoy!

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

Leave a Reply

