Chili Lime Cilantro Chicken Burgers with Avocado Salsa

So, it’s been cold, wet, and yucky outside here today. I had a few errands to run and picked up some ground chicken while I was out. I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it, so on to Pinterest I went! I love Pinterest. I just wish I had the funds to make all the food and projects I’ve pinned. Anyone else have that problem? Surely I’m not the only one….right? My husband says I’m a Pinterest and Food Network junkie. Haha he’s probably right, but shhh we won’t tell him I said that.

I hope the weather isn’t as yucky for you as it has been for me today. Cold, rainy, sleety weather isn’t my favorite. Is sleety a word? No? Ahh it is now…for me anyway.

Okay, on to the food!

The recipe I based the burger off of I got from here and the recipe I looked at for the avocado salsa is from here.

I took this up close with my iPhone.

I took this up close with my iPhone.

Chili Lime Cilantro Chicken Burgers

Ingredients

1 ½ lbs ground chicken

1 ½ teaspoon chili powder (I miss read this and put 1 1/2 table spooons…oops)

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 ¼ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon black pepper

1/3 cup finely diced green onion (I used white onion)

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 ½ tablespoons fresh lime juice

1/3  cup breadcrumbs or panko

2 tablespoons mayonnaise (I didn’t add any to my burger)

I also added about a table spoon or so of chopped cilantro

Your favorite Burger Buns

Directions

Mix together all the ingredients and then refrigerate for about 15-30 minutes.

Make 4-6 patties and either grill or pan fry.  These are much softer than ground beef burgers so if you grill them be sure to brush them with a little oil prior to grilling.

I served with avocado salsa (see recipe below) on a whole grain white bun. You can add cheese, lettuce, tomato, or whatever you like. For me the salsa was enough. Oh and a side of sweet potato fries! 🙂

Avocado Salsa

Avocado salsa
1 avocado, peeled, seeded and sliced
1 small red onion, sliced (I used about a 1/4 of a large white onion.)
Juice from 2 limes
3 tbs olive oil (left this out)
2 tbs finely chopped cilantro
Salt to taste (I used garlic salt)
 
IMG_0440
Since I added a bit more chili powder than called for the burgers were a little brownish red. But other than that they tasted good. We all like them. Well, my mom and I did. My sister is a vegetarian so she had a Boca Chick’n pattie burger thing. And I made my grandpa an italian chicken burger, since he can’t have the spices of the chili burger. I just put some italian seasoning, garlic, onion, parsley, salt, pepper, lemon juice, and bread crumbs in his. He liked it. I hope you enjoy!
 
Thanks for reading and happy cooking!
Brittney
Leave a Reply

