Mean Green Monster Smoothie

20130225-143256.jpg

Bare with me please. I know, I know, it looks like mud but I promise it tastes better than it looks. I’ve seen pictures and recipes all over Pinterest with spinach in smoothies. So I thought why not give it a try. I love spinach, I’ll eat it cooked or raw for a salad. I also really love strawberries. So why not blend the two into a smoothie. I even had my two year old nephew here to give it a try too. He loved his “green monster moothies.”

These are also known as Strawberry Mango Spinach Smoothie. If your and adult and don’t want to refer to it as a green monster smoothie lol. 😉

Okay, here’s what you’ll need:
I used about 8 cut up strawberries
Two or three handfuls of spinach
8 mango chunks cut small
Small banana, cut up
Small container of plain Greek yogurt
Splash of cranberry juice (or apple juice)
A squeeze of honey
A little ice

Cut up all your fruit. You can use frozen fruit, I usually do but I had fresh and fist want to wait for it to freeze. I put the juice then the ice, yogurt, honey, fruit, then spinach on top. I blend till its all smooth.
I have some left over, I’m gonna try freezing it and see how it does if I add a splash of juice and blend it a little in the morning.

20130225-144140.jpg
See, it’s got the two year old thumbs up approval!

20130225-144245.jpg
He really enjoyed it. I gave him a little less than half his cup full and then he asked for more! I was a happy Aunt BeBe and he was pleased with his Green Monster “Moothie.”

By the way, my laptop, the one I’ve had since my senior year has decided to not connect to the Internet. So I’m using my iPhone for this blog post. Mostly cause I’m too lazy to walk back to my moms desktop computer. I hope the mobile blog post works. 🙂

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!
Brittney

Leave a Reply

