Broccoli Cheese Twice Baked Potatoes

These were really good! Another great Pinterest find. 🙂 I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, I’m kind of addicted to Pinterest. But hey, that’s ok, I find great recipes and crafty things to do on there. Makes me happy.
These potatoes were a hit with my grandpa and me. I assume my mom and sister will like them too. My sister got called into work this afternoon and my mom had some errands to run. I can’t wait to try out this recipe on my Crazy Man! I think he will even like them. I miss cooking for him. His class needs to hurrrry and be over! I miss him big bunches. 😦

Anyway…back to the potatoes. These were good, and for the most part, good for you. Wanna know a secret about these? They have cauliflower in them! You’d never know it. Okay, on to how to make them. 🙂

IMG_0455

I got the recipe from here, I did change it just a little though.

  • (18 oz) 4 medium russet potatoes (I used three small ones since there was only 4 of us)
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped broccoli florets
  • 2 cups chopped cauliflower (I used about 1/2 a small head)
  • 1/2 cup low fat buttermilk (I used 1/2 small container of sour cream instead)
  • 1 tbsp minced chives (optional) (I didn’t use this, I did add a little garlic powder though)
  • 1 cup (4 ounces) shredded low-fat sharp cheddar cheese

Directions:
Pierce your potatoes and microwave them using the potato option on your microwave or in three-minute intervals until they get soft. Or you could bake them at 425 degrees for an hour.
Meanwhile, cook your cauliflower until tinder, about 6 or so minutes. Drain and set aside. I used a bag of steamfresh broccoli, the kind you microwave. When your potatoes get done cut them in half lengthwise and scoop out the flesh leaving about 1/4 of an inch around to make a “boat” Then add your cauliflower to your potato flesh and mash with a potato masher. Add the salt, pepper, sour cream, garlic powder and cheese and mix well. Then scoop the potato cauliflower mixture back into the potato shells and top with cheese and broccoli. Put them back into the oven at 400 and heat through until the cheese is melted.

These were good. I had to go get my sister from work in the middle of working on this post and she’s tried them and likes them as well.

I served some baked barbequed chicken  to go along with these.

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

One thought on “Broccoli Cheese Twice Baked Potatoes

  1. Pingback: Baked BBQ Chicken | Meals with Merritt

Leave a Reply

