Cheesy Chicken Broccoli Quinoa Casserole

I’ve gotten a bit behind on blog posting the last few days. No worries, I’m going to get caught up tonight. 🙂
So there’s this one plus two more after this one. So keep an eye out.

This is another quinoa recipe! I really like it. The first time I used it I made cheesy quinoa cakes, remember those? My sister loves those. Well, Monday night I used it to make a spin-off of chicken broccoli rice casserole. You’ve had that right? It’s one of my favorite casseroles. But the quinoa is healthier than rice. 🙂

I mixed everything up and portioned out some in a small casserole dish for my sister. Then I added chicken to the rest of the mixture before adding it to the big casserole dish for the rest of us.

IMG_0444

I based this recipe off this one here I’ll put my changes in parentheses:

Ingredients:
One can cream of chicken soup (I used cream of mushroom)
1/3 cup mayo
3 tablespoons low-fat milk
juice of one lemon
salt & pepper, to taste
1/2 teaspoon curry powder
dash of nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (I left these out)
1 3/4 cups shredded cheddar cheese, divided (1 1/4 cup + 1/2 cup)
2 cups cooked, chopped chicken (I cooked my chicken with a little olive oil, garlic, onion, salt and pepper)
1 1/2 cups broccoli, in small pieces
2 cups cooked quinoa (I use the kind that’s ready to cook)

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350ºF.  Butter a 9″ square casserole dish.

In a large bowl, stir together the cream of mushroom soup, mayo, milk, lemon, and spices until smooth.  Stir in the cheese, chicken, broccoli and quinoa and spread into the prepared baking dish.

Sprinkle with remaining 1/2 cup cheese and bake for 35-45 minutes, until the casserole is bubbling and golden brown.

My mom, sister, and I like this. My grandpa didn’t eat much of it. So I’m not sure if he didn’t like it or just wasn’t very hungry. Oh and just a heads up, 2 cups cooked quinoa is one cup uncooked quinoa. I wasn’t thinking and put two cups on to cook, so I had twice as much quinoa than I really needed for this recipe. I just saved the rest for Tuesday nights dinner.

IMG_0446

I hope you enjoy!

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

Leave a Reply

