Sweet Potato Shepherds Pie

This is yet another recipe I found on Pinterest. It’s actually a Skinny Taste recipe! It’s like the typical shepherds pie, you know potatoes on top, veggies and meat on the inside. Except this one has sweet potatoes and ground turkey. I think it turned out fairly well. 🙂 I made my sister a small one with morning star crumbles instead of ground turkey and some leftover cauliflower/potato mash from last night, since she doesn’t eat meat or sweet potatoes. Okay, here we go! I’ll post the original recipe and add my changes in parenthesis.

IMG_0461

Here’s what you’ll need:

For the potatoes:

  • 1-1/2 lbs sweet potatoes, peeled, diced (I used 2 really big ones)
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 cup 1% milk
  • 1/4 cup fat free chicken broth* (I used vegetable broth)
  • 2 tbsp reduced fat sour cream
  • salt and pepper to taste

For the filling:

  • 1 lb 93% lean ground turkey
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 celery stalk, chopped
  • 1 parsnip, diced (I didn’t have one)
  • 2 cloves garlic, diced
  • 8 oz mushrooms, diced
  • 10 oz frozen mixed vegetables (I feel like I should have used more veggies)
  • 2 tbsp flour (leave out to make gluten-free)
  • 1 cup fat-free low-sodium chicken broth* (I used vegetable broth)
  • 2 tsp tomato paste
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce (forgot this…oops!)
  • 1 tsp freshly chopped rosemary
  • salt and pepper
  • paprika

Here’s how ya do it:

Cut up your sweet potatoes. I usually eat mine baked so this was the first time I cut up uncooked sweet potatoes. Boy, let me tell you, you’ve got to have some arm muscles to cut them up! Then, boil the sweet potatoes and garlic in a pot of salted water until cooked and soft. Drain and mash with vegetable broth, sour cream, salt and pepper. 

Preheat oven to 400°F.

In a large saute pan brown turkey; season with salt and pepper. I also added some onion in while the turkey was cooking. When cooked, set aside on a plate. Add olive oil to the pan, then add the onion and sauté one minute. Add the celery, salt and pepper to taste; cook about 12 minutes, until celery is soft.

Add garlic and mushrooms; sauté another 3-4 minutes. Add flour, salt and pepper and mix well. Add frozen vegetables, vegetable broth, tomato paste, rosemary, cooked turkey, and mix well. Simmer on low about 5-10 minutes.

Then add to a casserole dish and top with potatoes. Run a fork over the top of them and sprinkle with paprika. Bake 20 minutes until the potatoes are a little brown. Let it set about 5 minutes or so before you eat it. I was impatient and didn’t wait, so it was a bit runny, but it was still ok.

IMG_0464

It isn’t the prettiest thing I’ve ever put in a bowl but it did taste good. 🙂

IMG_0463

This is the one I made for my sister. It has mashed cauliflower/potatoes on top. (Some of the liquid bubbled up on top while cooking.)

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

 

Leave a Reply

