Turkey Roast and Savory Glazed Carrots

I’m baaaack! I haven’t blogged in so long. I know, it’s awful. I’ve missed it but this is a quick post. I just have to tell you about the amazing dinner I made tonight. And the turkey was cooked in the crockpot! I was so excited about this! It was a new recipe and I didn’t have to turn on the oven and heat up the house. The new apartment doesn’t have central heat and air. So the kitchen gets pretty hot. So not having to roast myself to cook a turkey roast was awesome! 😀

20130731-190552.jpg
I bought a Foster Farms turkey roast. I think it was original herb flavor. But anyway I cut up a carrot, a pretty big one, into big chunks, two celery stalks, half an onion in big chunks, and I just whacked three gloves of garlic with my knife to break them open. I put all that in the bottom of my crockpot. Then I placed the turkey roast on top and sprinkled it with salt, pepper, rosemary, and oregano. Then I poured enough water around the turkey to cover the veggies and to cover just a little of the bottom of the turkey. I then threw in two bay leaves and covered and cooked on low for 7 hours. My turkey roast was 3lbs so if yours is bigger adjust your time.
When the turkey was done I removed it and put it on a cutting board and tented with foil. I made some gravy with the broth in the crock, some mashed potatoes, and these savory glazed carrots. For the carrots I cut up 4 carrots.
I really really like carrots. My mom said I turned orange when I was little cause I ate too many.
Anyway… Then I put a can of beef broth in a pot and brought it to a boil, added 2TBS butter, 2TBS sugar, and a good sprinkling of pepper and added the carrots. I continued to boil until the carrots were tender and it made a glaze. After they were done I sprinkled with parsley. Oh it was so good. Like a mini Thanksgiving. At least now I know I can do this again for Thanksgiving since this year will be just me and the hubs.
Thanks for reading and happy cooking!
Brittney

Leave a Reply

