Salisbury Steak

Testing…
Testing 1 2 3…
Can everyone hear me?

I’ve been lacking big time on blogging lately. I’m going to try to do better, promise.

Last week while at the grocery store we are waking past the frozen food aisle, frozen meals in particular. My husband says “Ya know what I could go for that I haven’t had in a while? Salisbury steak.” So what does that make me do? My hamster starts running and the gears start turning. I think hmmm I could work that into next weeks meal plan. So, to Pinterest I went when I got home to search for a Salisbury steak recipe. I found a few but the Pioneer Woman’s recipe looked best to me. I followed the recipe almost to the T.

I’m sure most of you remember Salisbury steak. Maybe it was in a school cafeteria. Maybe you weren’t so sure if you should eat it? Maybe it was in a TV dinner? My memory of Salisbury steak was both. I remember it in elementary school, maybe junior high as well. But my most favorite memory was when I used to stay the night at my grandparent’s house. I thought I was hot stuff eating that Salisbury steak TV dinner with a towel tucked in my shirt that went all the way to my legs. That was to make sure I didn’t get anything on my clothes. I’m sure I probably was sitting on a pillow with a pillow on my lap under the towel so I didn’t burn my legs with the TV dinner tray. There was probably Jeopardy or Murder She Wrote on TV. I thought I was the coolest kid on the block. I guess mostly cause I was eating something I didn’t usually eat at home and I was watching “adult” television. My grandma would have let me get away with murder…not that I would ever murder anyone. She would cut a piece of pound cake and have me hold it then pour chocolate syrup on the cake till it was running down my arm. We would laugh, stand over the sink and eat it. She would then say “shhh don’t tell grandpa!” I have so many fond memories of my grandparents.
This is my grandma and grandpa. Oh how I miss them.

20130821-182340.jpg
This is them a lot younger. Aren’t they cute!?

20130821-182540.jpg
Anyway…enough of my memories on to the food!
Here’s what you will need (I’ve copied the Pioneer Woman’s recipe over. I’ll make my changes in parentheses.)
MEAT MIXTURE
1-1/2 pound Lean Ground Beef
1/2 cup Seasoned Breadcrumbs
2 teaspoons Dry Mustard (I used a little mustard, I didn’t have any dry)
1 cube Beef Bouillon, Crumbed (or Powdered Beef Base) (I didn’t have this.)
4 dashes Worcestershire Sauce
1 Tablespoon Ketchup
Salt And Pepper
Gravy
1 whole Onion, Halved And Thinly Sliced (or Diced If You Prefer) (I used a little onion powder and half a container of sliced mushrooms)
2 cups Beef Broth
4 dashes Worcestershire (additional)
1 Tablespoon Ketchup (additional)
1 teaspoon Kitchen Bouquet (optional)
1 teaspoon Corn Starch Mixed With A Little Beef Broth To Make A Thin Paste
Salt And Pepper, to taste
More Broth If Needed For Thinning
Mashed Potatoes, For Serving
Buttered Peas, For Serving (I did garlic green beans)
1 Tablespoon Olive Oil, For Frying
1 Tablespoon Butter, For Frying

*I halved the recipe to make for two people.*

Combine the ingredients for the meat together and then form into patties. Put in a skillet with butter and olive oil and brown on both sides until cooked through.
Remove meat from pan and drain extra oil. Put sliced mushroom (and/or onions) into skillet and cook until brown. Then add broth, worcestershire sauce, and ketchup. I also combined a little cornstarch and broth then added it to the gravy to make it thicker. Flour will make it a lighter color. Add the steaks back in the gravy and spoon some over the top of them. Let it simmer to make sure the steaks are warmed through.
Serve with mashed potatoes and garlic green beans.
For the green beans I put a little butter, a little minced garlic in the pot, add the canned green beans and a chicken bullion cube.

20130821-182251.jpg
I was going for the whole “school cafeteria look.” And I do apologize for no step-by-step pictures. As well as the iPhone quality picture.
Thanks for reading and letting me reminisce about my grandparents. 🙂
Happy cooking!
Brittney

Leave a Reply

