Brisket Chili

This is one of those, “I have leftovers and I’m not sure what to make out of them” meals. We bought a smoked brisket and I divided it up, we ended up getting three meals out of it. On this particular night I didn’t want sandwiches,  just brisket, or this stuff I call brisket stir fry (I’ll post how I make that later.) So I came up with brisket chili, ok I confess, I googled “can you make chili out of brisket.” The results said I could. So that’s what I did. I’ve got to give you a heads up first though, this chili does have beans, but not your typical red, pinto, or white bean. It’s got BBQ beans. I know, I know, crazy! I thought I had some red beans in my pantry. Then I remembered, I do have red beans…in my freezer. They were already seasoned to have red beans and rice. I didn’t want to thaw them or risk it not tasting right so I thought hmm I’ll just use the small can of BBQ baked beans in my pantry. Guess what? It tasted just fine! However, if you don’t like beans in your chili feel free to leave them out. My Crazy Man thinks chili has to have beans, so that’s why I put them in. 🙂

brisket chili1

This is a little bright, I used my phone and didn’t realize the flash was on.

Ok, here goes…

  • Leftover smoked brisket, chopped It was probably 1/4 pound I’m not sure honestly
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 white onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 can rotel
  • 1 can tomato sauce
  • 1 small can baked beans
  • 1 package chili seasoning
  • chili powder
  • oregano
  • cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste

I cut up the pepper, onion, and garlic. I sautéed the onion and pepper a few minutes then added the garlic. I let those cook until the onion was a little transparent, then added the brisket. I cooked it just for a few minutes then added the rotel, tomato sauce, chili seasoning, and I added the chili powder, oregano, cumin, salt and pepper to taste. I don’t always use the chili seasoning package but I had it so I used it. It didn’t taste chili-y enough for me so I added the chili powder and cumin until it met my chilliness. I then let it simmer for about an hour so all the flavors could combine. Then I served it with crackers and shredded cheddar.

brisket chili2

I’m going to try to start doing step by step pictures again. Oh I halve most recipes to try and make for two people. We had leftovers of this, enough for another night. So I’m not sure if we weren’t as hungry or it just made a lot. The recipe above is the halved version of my typical chili recipe.

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

Leave a Reply

