Lemon Berry Cake

Is it just me or does everyone get that urge to just bake something?

Just me?

That’s ok, I need to practice my baking skills anyway.

I had some blueberries and strawberries in my fridge that were almost to their “use ’em or lose ’em stage” so I thought I’ll make a cake! On to hunting for a cake recipe, I don’t usually keep those on my brain file. I found this recipe and thought it should work great. I only wanted to make one round cake. It’s just me and the hubs there’s no way we could eat a 9X13 cake pan full or a two or three layer cake. I’m sure we won’t even eat all of this one. Heck, I’ve got half an apple cake in my freezer right now. If that tells you anything about us and cake. Now, cookies and brownies, that’s another story. Those last umm… two days… maybe.

On to the cake! Here’s what you’ll need:

For the cake:

1/2 carton fresh strawberries

1/2 small carton fresh blueberries

2 eggs

1 cup white sugar

 1/3 cup vegetable oil

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

 juice and zest of 1/2 lemon

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

For the icing:

2 sticks of butter, softened, not melted

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

juice and zest of 1/2 lemon

berry cake1

Isn’t the batter pretty?

Here’s what you need to do:

First preheat oven to 350. Zest your lemon, half in on bowl and half in another. Then wash your berries and cut the tops off the strawberries, then put the strawberries and blueberries in a blender. Add the juice from half the lemon and a tablespoon of sugar. Pulse the blender until the berries are smooth. Set 3/4 cup out and save the rest, you’ll use it as filling.

In a large bowl, beat together, white sugar, vegetable oil, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract and add eggs one at a time,  and strawberry puree until well combined. Stir in the flour, baking powder, salt, and lemon zest together in a separate bowl. Then add to wet mixture in small amounts making sure each addition is incorporated. Pour batter into well-greased round cake pan.

Bake in preheated oven for about 30 minutes. I checked it at 20 and it needed about 5 more minutes. Check with a toothpick, if it comes out clean your cake is done.

Let it cool then you can put the icing on.

While the cake is cooling, beat 2 sticks of butter and the powdered sugar together until creamy and add the juice and zest of half a lemon. This makes your lemon butter cream.

Once you take your cake out of the oven you need to transfer it to a cooling rack.

berry cake2

This is what happened when I did. Ugh, I guess I didn’t spray it enough with cooking spray and it stuck. But fear not! I rescued it!

berry cake3

I just plopped the stuck cake back over on the whole cake!

Ok, once your cake cools cut it in half so you have two layers. I took the messed up layer and put it on bottom, messed up side up. Then I put some buttercream on and then a layer of berry puree. (The berries from the blender we saved earlier) Then I put the next layer on and covered it with buttercream. Then I had to put it in the fridge to wait till my husband got home to eat it. I didn’t want to eat cake without him.

berry cake4

I am no expert cake decorator. Plus it was hot in my kitchen and the icing was trying to run a little.

Lemon Berry Cake

So about three hours later, I finally got to try the cake.

berry cake6

It was good!

Thanks for reading and happy cooking!

Brittney

Leave a Reply

