Turkey Sausage, Kale, and White Bean Soup

I’ve gotten behind on blogging again…
I am so excited to tell you about this soup! It was our first time to try kale, and we both love it! I probably do just a little more than my husband. But hey! That’s okay. 🙂
This soup is pretty easy to put together and it didn’t take too long to cook. It does make enough for about three people though. Hubs went back for seconds and there was enough left for his lunch the next day. That makes me “souper” happy. 😉
I adapted this recipe to make it. It’s a Pioneer Woman recipe, and yep you guessed it, I found it on Pinterest! I mean seriously, can The Pioneer Woman ever steer someone wrong? I love her recipes. I also love Pinterest.
Oh, this has nothing to do with food but I love Friends. I’ve watched episodes here and there and the other day I said “I’m going to get on Netflix and watch as much as I can to get caught up.” Well, did you know Friends isn’t on Netflix?!?! Yeah…me either. I’m pretty bummed about it. Anyway, on to the food!
kale soup1
Here’s What you’ll need:
1/2 pound Italian Turkey Sausage, casing removed
2 cloves Garlic, Minced
1/2 Medium Onion, Diced
1 Can Cannellini Beans, Drained And Rinsed
1 Tablespoons Olive Oil
1/2 teaspoon Red Pepper Flakes
1 teaspoons Dried Oregano
1/4 cup Tomato Paste
1 can Diced Tomatoes
3 cups Low Sodium Chicken Broth
1 bunch Kale
Plenty Of Torn Fresh Basil
Juice and Zest of one small lemon
Grated Parmesan

Here’s what you’re going to do:
Heat olive oil in a large pot over medium high heat. Add onions and garlic and stir to cook for a couple of minutes. Add sausage, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and cook until done. Add tomato paste and stir to cook about 2 minutes. Then, stir in red pepper flakes and dried oregano; stir and cook for a few seconds.
Pour in chicken broth and scrape bottom of pan, then add canned tomatoes. Drain and rinse beans, then add to pot. Stir to combine and allow it to simmer for 20-25 minutes. Sprinkle in salt and pepper to taste.
Rinse the kale and tear it into chunks, you don’t want the stems, just the leafy part. Stir into soup. It’ll shrink down like spinach does, don’t worry. Add a bunch of torn basil and the juice and zest of the lemon and stir. Allow the soup to simmer for another 5 minutes, tasting and adding salt and pepper as needed.
Now, pour into individual bowls and top with grated parmesan! Yummy!
kale soup2
I hope you enjoyed this as much as we did!
Thanks for reading and happy cooking!
Brittney

Leave a Reply

